International Accreditation System for Interventional Oncology Services



IASIOS does not put restrictions on medical facilities regarding their size or location. Any facility that wishes to obtain formal recognition of their IO service line is able to apply for IASIOS, either as part of an existing institution or as an independent entity, provided they perform a minimum of 150 interventional oncology procedures per year. Please note that enrolment can only proceed with approval of the appropriate authority, for example the Head of Department or Hospital Director.


In order to be granted the seal of IASIOS Accredited Centre, you must meet all core requirements outlined in the Standards of Quality Assurance in Interventional Oncology (further details below), as well as complete an internal case review of 30 randomly selected patients.

Applying the Standards of Quality Assurance in Interventional Oncology

The Standards of Quality Assurance are divided into three sections:

  • Staff and Facilities (Standards 1 to 6)
  • Treatment Planning and Delivery (Standards 7 to 9)
  • Safety and Quality (Standards 10 to 13)

At the end of each Standard is a list of required evidence that includes documents or records that the facility needs to be able to provide in order to demonstrate compliance with the Standards.

IASIOS separates the Standards into either core or extended requirements:

  • Core requirements – mandatory requirements necessary to achieve IASIOS accreditation and the status of IASIOS Accredited Centre
  • Extended requirements – additional requirements necessary to achieve the status of IASIOS Centre of Excellence

The core requirements correspond to the Standards listed below and detailed in the Standards document:

  • Standard 1: a, c, e, f, g
  • Standard 2: b
  • Standard 3: a, c
  • Standard 4: b, c, d
  • Standard 5: d
  • Standard 6: a, b, c, d
  • Standard 7: a, b
  • Standard 8: a, b, c, d, e
  • Standard 9: none
  • Standard 10: c
  • Standard 11: a
  • Standard 12: a, b
  • Standard 13: none